Gratitude

DSC_0003Happy Thanksgiving to my friends from the USA.

A day to be thankful is a beautiful thing but as with many one-day events this reminds us of what we should do everyday. But we’re not always very good at gratitude.

‘There’s always something going wrong.’

This phrase often leaves my mouth. Whether the electricity has gone off, or the Wi-Fi is slow, or the car has an issue, or the hot water heater is leaking. I get frustrated by a problem rather than celebrating what is working.

It’s hard to be grateful for what you have, where you are or who you are when the world is trying to tell you otherwise. You can look like this! You need this in your life! You need to move here! 

Gratitude helps us to appreciate life in the moment rather than wishing ourself into a possible future. A future where nothing breaks, where I have all the belongings that I ‘need’, where I have the ‘perfect’ body shape.

So what are some of the things I am grateful for today?

An amazing wife and son.

A loving family.

Fantastic friends around the world.

Living in a vibrant community.

Food in my stomach and a roof over my head.

Living out my passion, using my skills and learning everyday as I follow Jesus.

What are you grateful for today?

2 responses to “Gratitude

  1. And thanks for sharing Paul. You are right we all need to remember to give thanks for the many blessings we have, and not focus so much on the things that aren’t ideal. Love to you all, Janet

Leave a Reply

