Transition to the Ordinary

DSC_0102

Just keep putting one foot in front of the other.

This is the mantra that I have to sometimes say to myself when I’m tiring during a long run. I found myself saying it the other day as I circled around the area we’re living during some heavy rain. I get so much life when I run, I’m able to connect with the area, look after my physical well being and the introvert inside me gets some time alone. I’ve realised over the past week that I need to ensure I’m doing these things that give me life to be sustainable here.

We’re feeling the move from the exciting new adventure into the ordinary adventure of living our lives here. This transition can be hard at times as we think about the UK and our friends and family. These thoughts battling alongside the confusion of being in a new place, can impact on our emotions.

Which is why we need to be doing life-giving activities that bring us peace, joy and refreshment. Whether it’s running, playing musical instruments, watching familiar TV shows (Downton Abbey has captured us), or discovering new places in SA.

We’re excited for the future potential of what’s to come and this transition phase will end but for now we need to be putting one foot in front of the other.

– P

One response to “Transition to the Ordinary

  1. They may be baby steps or giant steps or just standing still, but “know you are loved”

Leave a Reply

